You Know We Can’t Go Back

“Maybe I believe in magic love

I find it in the moon and stars above

I’ll drag you from the one horse town

That’ll bring you down

And I’ll love you for all time”

 

From “Chasing Yesterday”, the second studio album released by former Oasis songwriter under the name Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, we get You Know We Can’t Go Back. Here is a video of the song played recently in the Jools Holland show:

The song has not been released as a single of the album so far.

 

I might add it is a personal favourite of mine. It reminds me of the sound Noel achieved in the nineties once he got over Wonderwall and Cast No Shadow. You can find a similar sound in the brilliant I hope, I think, I know featured in the always belittled third Oasis album: Be Here Now. Electric guitars, simple chords, vivid lyrics, that’s it man!

 

If we were back in 1998 you could safely say this is BritPop at its best!

 

May 17th, 2015.

 

TRC

Leave a Reply

