Noel Gallagher quotes from Time Flies… 1994-2009

Since I’m on holiday I thought it would be nice to go over my old Oasis DVD’s so I did it. I found myself having a laugh and enjoying some hilarious comments by Noel Gallagher on the Time Flies compilation. I’m sharing some of them with you:

A lot of my songs are kind of open to interpretation, I guess is the best way to put it.

I’ve got no recollection of writing this song (Shakermaker) not in the slightest … why is the second single is a mystery to me … Is it a good tune? I don’t know, it’s catchy enough I suppose.

It’s a proper youth anthem I think (Cigarettes and Alcohol)

I was fucking drunk in this video (Whatever) … I remember waking up and thinking, shit I’m supposed to be doing a video today … I remember Liam being furious that day ‘cause it’s the one time I’ve been more drunk than he has.

I fucking hate videos, I hate everything about it, I hate the fact they cost a fortune … I don’t like the fact that the people who are making them think they’re fucking making Apocalypse Now… fucking bollocks! It’s nonsense… who fucking watches videos these days? No one.

I think you’ve got to stay true to yourself but when shit happens, shit just fucking happens, but there you go.

That video won an award for most black and white British video ever (Wonderwall).

Oh, Some Might Say. I fucking love this song, I put it second only to Supersonic, I don’t like the sound of it though. The sound of all this stuff that comes from Morning Glory, fucking horrible.

The Hindu Times is an actual real newspaper, in India I mean … I saw it on a t-shirt once and I thought what a fucking brilliant name for a tune. This is obviously a song about taking drugs by the way.

Remember writing this song in my kitchen (The Importance of Being Idle) … well I finished this song thinking that’s one of the fucking best ones I’ve ever written, it’s concise to the point, fucking great.

NOEL GALLAGHER godlike genius 2012

March 28th, 2013.

TRC

Leave a Reply

