Ballon d’Or 3-men shortlist revealed



Today FIFA™ unveiled a 3-men shortlist of nominees to the Ballon d’Or 2012. Lionel Andrés Messi (ARG), Andrés Iniesta Luján (SPA) and Cristiano Ronaldo dos Santos Aveiro (POR) are the names remaining from the last 10-player shortlist published by the international association.


Current title-holder, Lionel Messi, arguably the best soccer player of the last few years, has scored 82 goals since January, and needs only 3 more in 2012 to equal “Gerd” Müller’s record of 85 strikes for club and country in a calendar year.



Earlier this month, the Portuguese international star Cristiano Ronaldo stated he would vote for himself if he could, in order to get the award.


Iniesta, a natural midfielder, has won both the latest editions of the FIFA World Cup™ and the UEFA European Championship (trashing the squadra azzurra in the process) with his national team.



I don’t play the game to be number one (…) I play to be happy:  Andrés Iniesta.

Journalists, national coaches and captains will vote for the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or™. The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on January 7th, 2013.

November 29th, 2012.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s