Melancholia

A beautiful movie about the end of the world

 

Kirsten Dunst

 

Danish filmmaker and Palme d’Or winner Lars Von Tier (‘Dogville’, ‘Antichrist’) presents ‘Melancholia’, starring Kirsten Dunst (‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’),  Charlotte Gainsbourg (‘La science des rêves‘) and Keiffer Sutherland.

 

Although this is and apocalyptical film, you’ll find it is more than slightly different to those made by Roland Emmerich and others like ‘Armageddon’ by Michael Bay or the post-apocalyptic ‘I Am Legend’ by Francis Lawrence.

 

Take a look at the trailer:

 

 

  

Confused? Don’t know exactly what to expect? Check out director’s comments:

 

It was like waking from a dream: my producer showed me a suggestion for a poster.  “What is that?” I ask.  “It’s a film you’ve made!” She replies. “I hope not”, I stammer. Trailers are shown… stills… it looks like shit. I’m shaken.

 

Don’t get me wrong… I’ve worked on the film for two years. With pleasure. But perhaps I’ve deceived myself… Lars von Tier.

 

‘Melancholia’ premiered in May 2011 at the Cannes Film Festival and is set for release in the U.S.A. on November 11th, 2011.

 

October 4th, 2011.

 

TRC

One comment

Leave a Reply

